02 Nov 2023

Men's Annodata team qualify for semi-finals in Spain

20231022 165335

Congratulations to Jayson Ware, Stuart Ogilvy, Ollie Donaldson, Justin Leong, Dave Sargent, Ryan Harpur, Dan Walker, Juan Pablo Villegas, Sanjay Khuller, Andy Lansburgh & Conor Sherrard (Captain) on a successful campaign so far, qualifying for the semi-final of The Annodata Championship in March 2024 at the Montecastillo Golf Resort in Spain where they will compete against golfers from Woburn, Ryde & Drax.

Now in its eighth year, The Annodata Championship is the only national team matchplay competition in the UK with five-man teams competing from golf clubs across the UK in knockout format.

Clubs in England, Scotland & Wales can enter up to two men's or ladies' teams into the draw.  Round one sees more than 400 teams compete across the nation before being steadily whittled down over seven rounds when eight teams face off against each other for the quarter finals and the chance to go to Spain next year and play the Jack Nicklaus-designed Montecastillo Golf Resort, hosts of the Volvo Masters five times when it was the season finale for the European Tour and Order of Merit.

Last year, the men’s team was knocked out at Muswell Hill GC in the sixth round so started this season’s campaign in April more determined to better last year’s effort.  Captained by Conor Sherrard, the team got off to the best possible start with a 5-0 win, or a “Foxwash”, against Blethchingley GC.

A series of wins followed before a very tight away win 3-2 at Wimbledon Common in August.  The quarter final was played against Middleton Hall from Norfolk who brought a sizable contingent of spectators to follow the matches around our Longcross Course. Although we were delighted with our fantastic 4.5-0.5 win, this did not do justice to how well the visitors played and how tight the matches were.  The first three matches went down the 18th hole and the final two matches finished on the 17th. 

We wish Conor and the team the very best of luck as they represent the club next year. Bring the trophy home!