27 Oct 2023

Past Captains' Golf Day


Last week saw the annual get-together of Foxhills' past golf captains for a celebration of their achievement, representation and the growth of the club as it nears its 50-year anniversary.

With 45 captains between 1976 and 2023, 15 of those were able to gather with guests for a day of golf followed by a black tie dinner in the Manor House.

Competing for the coveted Past Captain Trophy, it was an honour to welcome back Sue Eggleton (2022), Dee Shah (2018), Terry Baker (1996), Judy Searle (2009), David Yabsley (2005), Phil Burnham (2017), Gordon Phillips (2006 & 2019), Jeff Marshall (2008), Paul Searle (2004), Paul Suchley (2014) and Phil Hadfield (2016) who were joined by current captain, Ian Howick (2023), and Tour Professional, Tom Lewis. Peter Goode (1990) and John Mottram (2000) joined for breakfast while Dawn Turner (2020 & 2021) and Bob Critchlow (2012) joined for the evening meal.

The inclement weather forecast turned out to be completely wrong and the sun shone on the Longcross course, with a worthy winner being Gordon Phillips.

A great social day and evening was had by all and a fitting thank you for all of the hard work each one put into the club during their year.